• 2019 Norbert Mueller High School Concerto Competition Winners

    • Share:
    January 08, 2019
         Holland Symphony Orchestra announces the winners of the Norbert Mueller High School Concerto Competition, which was held Saturday, January 5, 2019 at the John & Dede Howard Recital Hall, Hope College.  An enthusiastic audience at the public recital, competition, and reception was present to hear this tough competition between ten of the Holland area’s best high school musicians.  Prizes for this competition have been endowed as a memorial by the local family of Norbert Mueller, a violinist with the Chicago Symphony for over 50 years.   The winner will perform with the Holland Symphony on Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 3:30pm on the Family Concert to be held at DeWitt Performing Arts Center at Zeeland East High School.
    Peter Busscher, piano, won first place with a prize of $500 and the opportunity to perform first movement of Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 23 by Mac Dowell with Holland Symphony on the March 24th concert.  He was accompanied by Andrew Busscher, pianist.  Busscher is the student of Joan Conway.  He attends Black River Public School.
    Second place winner was Eleni Persinger, violin, who received $250 for her performance of Scene de Ballet, Op. 100 by de Beriot with Sarah Bast accompanying on piano.  Eleni is a student of Jenny Walvoord and attends Saugatuck High School.         
    Third place winner was Holly Petersen, violin, who received $150 for her performance of the first movement of Concerto in A minor, Op. 53 by Dvorak.  She was accompanied by Jennifer Wolfe, piano.  She is the student of Jenny Walvoord and attends West Ottawa High School.
    The open recital/competition and remaining contestants follows.  Each musician performed one movement:
    Abby Hilsman, cello, Concerto No. 1 in C Major by Haydn
    Kathleen Leidel, violin, Concerto in C Major, Op. 48 by Kabalevsky
    Emma Hakken, violin, Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26 by Bruch
    Rachel Smith, flute, Fantaisie by Hue
    Evelyn Timmermann, violin, Concerto in C Major, Op. 48 by Kabalevsky
    Carson Bretz, trumpet, Concerto in E-flat Major by Haydn
    Madeline Dykhouse, cello, Concerto in E minor, Op. 85 by Elgar
    Judges for the competition were Barb Corbato, Greg Bassett and Emily Grabinski. More information on future competitions and concert information may be found on the website of Holland Symphony Orchestra at www.hollandsymphony.org
    Kay Walvoord, President & CEO
    (616) 796-6780

  • The West Coast Chamber often takes photographs & video during our events for use in brochures and on the Web. 
    By registering you agree that the Chamber may use any image of you that might appear in photographs or video taken at a Chamber event.